top of page

"Nominate Your Champions: Gus Robinson Sport Awards 2023 Nominations Now Open!"

The Hartlepool Sports Council Awards are back for the 44th time next month with a new name in celebration of a former businessman.

The Gus Robinson Hartlepool Sport Awards is a tribute to someone who did so much to help grassroots sport across the town and he was also well known as a boxing promoter before his passing in 2011.

And the decision to give the awards a new title follows on from the Gus Robinson Foundation becoming part of another local charity, the PFC Trust, earlier this year.

Now the search is on to celebrate the best sporting achievements from Hartlepool during the last 12 months.

Nominations are now open for the eight categories and the deadline for submitting entries is November 17.

The awards night takes place on Wednesday, November 29 at Hartlepool College of Further Education.

Kelly Brooks, Operations Manager for The PFC Trust, said: “For more than 40 years the Hartlepool Sports Council has been identifying talented athletes and supporting them with small grants and an annual awards ceremony.

“These awards are a fantastic way to celebrate the fantastic sporting achievements across Hartlepool’s clubs and schools – and this years are extra special because they will recognise the work Gus Robinson and the Gus Robinson Foundation has done to help sport in this area.

“The Gus Robinson Hartlepool Sport Awards will highlight the successes across the town and provide an opportunity to thank our volunteers and coaches for the amazing work and time they put into our community sports.”

Hartlepool’s world boxing champion Savannah Marshall and internationally recognised football official Gary Beswick are two to have been recognised in recent years.

Last year tributes were paid to another late local businessman, Alby Pattison, as he was named personality of the year posthumously.

The PFC Trust and the Sports Council have linked up to organise the awards. Hartlepool Sports Council Awards wants nominations before 5pm on Friday, November 17 for the following categories:

• Services to Sport (any age)

• Coach of the Year (any age)

• Primary School Sports Person(s) of the year, Rising Star (under 11yrs)

• Secondary School Sports Person(s) of the year, Rising Star (under 16yrs)

• Hartlepool Sports Personality (16+)

• Outstanding Team of the Year

• Outstanding Club of the Year

• Keith Hewitson Volunteer of the Year (non-coaching role)

321 views0 comments


bottom of page